Site for the english cours

You are not connected. Please login or register

The rugby world Cup

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1 The rugby world Cup on Thu 17 Dec - 9:21


The first Rugby World Cup was held in 1987, hosted by Australia and New Zealand who pushed for the tournament to be approved. Since the first tournament, 7 others have been held at four-year intervals.[1] The 2011 tournament was held in New Zealand, and was won by the New Zealand All Blacks. The 2015 tournament was won by New Zealand, the cup was held from the 19th of September 2015 till 31st of October 2015. It was held in England and Wales

The 1987 Rugby World Cup was hosted by both Australia and New Zealand. 32 matches were played from over a period of 22 May to 20 June. The tournament featured one African nation, three American nations, one Asian nation, seven European nations and four Oceanic nations. One notable omission was the Springboks who were not competing due to the international sports boycott.

Seven places were automatically filled by the IRFB members, with invitations being sent out to fill remaining places. In total there were 16 nations in the competition. France played Australia in one of the semi-finals with New Zealand playing Wales in the other. New Zealand became the first ever Rugby World Cup Champions, defeating France 29 points to 9 at Eden Park in Auckland.

The winner of rugby world cup :

View user profile

Back to top  Message [Page 1 of 1]

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum